DepEd Order 36: Policy Guidelines on Awards and Recognition for the K to 12 Basic Education Program

Recognizing learners who excel in a specific field or win competitions is essential to encourage them to be more productive and work hard to achieve excellence. These learners not only deserve recognition. But schools and teachers should grant them awards to commemorate their achievements, making them more enthusiastic in their studies. Hence, the Department of Education (DepEd) issued the DepEd Order 36, series 2016, to appreciate and acknowledge learners’ achievements, excellence, and leadership. DepEd issued this policy, containing guidelines for providing awards and recognition to learners under the K to 12 Basic Education Program.

Also Read: Deped Order 44 : Educational Programs and Services for Learners with Disabilities

In this policy, DepEd enclosed the awards and recognition granted to learners, including the criteria awardees should meet. It also specified the awards schools should give to learners and ensure the fair treatment of all awardees. Moreover, the policy guidelines state the criteria for selecting awardees and the responsible committee to deliberate the candidates for awards. Thus, schools, teachers, and other stakeholders should ensure the implementation of the guidelines in this policy to promote fairness in granting awards and motivate learners to excel in their studies.

Deped Order 36 Policy Guidelines on Awards and Recognition for the K to 12 Basic Education Program

What is DepEd Order 36

On June 7, 2016, the Department of Education issued the DepEd Order (DO) 36, series (s.) 2016, titled the “Policy Guidelines on Awards and Recognition for the K to 12 Basic Education Program.” This policy follows the Republic Act No. 10533 or the Enhanced Basic Education Act of 2013 (K to 12). The DepEd Order 36 aims to guide schools and teachers regarding giving awards to students, including transferees, given they meet the criteria, standards, and guidelines. Furthermore, the policy states that two or more learners can receive the awards.

 But if not one qualified learner, schools should not grant the said awards. The guidelines in this policy apply to Special Education (SpEd) program learners who adhere to the K to 12 Curriculum. Additionally, the policy guidelines apply to private schools, higher education institutions (HEIs), technical-vocations institutions (TVIs), state universities and colleges (SUCs), and local universities and colleges (LUCs) under Basic Education and recognize the K to 12 Curriculum. This order took effect in the school year 2016-2017 and remains effective unless revoked, repealed, or amended.

Policy Guidelines on Awards and Recognition for the K to 12 Basic Education Program

A. Classroom Awards

This recognition is for students in each section or class, a simple acknowledgment granted every quarter, semester, and at the end of the school year. Students granted classroom awards will receive merits from their adviser or subject teachers as a reward for their outstanding performance in class.

B. Grade-level Awards

Qualified students for every grade level will receive an award at the end of the school year. This award is for eligible candidates who meet the said criteria, deliberated by the school’s Awards Committee (AC).

C. Special Recognition

Schools give special recognition to students who competed in district, division, regional, national, or international levels. This recognition publicly proclaims students who brought honor to educational institutions.

Awards Given to Awardees

Schools should grant grade-level awardees with certificates, medals, or plaques that bear the department’s official seal (DepEd Order No. 63, s. 2011). Also, schools must follow the specifications to guarantee the quality of certificates, medals, and awards. Check the photo below for the medal specifications of awards.

DepEd Order 36

Determining Awardees

The principal or school head should organize an Awards Committee (AC) for every grade level at the start of the school year. If the school is small, establish one (1) AC, which consists of at least three (3) members from the guidance counselor, designated teacher, or teaching staff. Additionally, the total member of the AC must be an odd number, and family members within the second degree of consanguinity or affinity of candidates for awards should be part of the committee.

 Members of the AC should also perform the following:

  • Develop timelines and processes for accepting nominations and deciding qualifiers for all grade levels
  • Create specific rubrics for grade-level awards
  • Collaborate with the school community, parents, and other stakeholders regarding the process of granting awards and results of evaluation.
  • Validate the authenticity of the submitted documents
  • Give recommendations to the school head or principal regarding the evaluation result for approval or resolutions for issues arising from granting awards
  • Ensure the implementation of the guidelines in this policy

Check the table below to learn about the process of determining the awardees:

DepEd Order 36

As a reference for the Academic Excellence Awards, the members of AC will utilize the learner’s report cards and permanent records. To determine awardees for other awards, the AC will use portfolio copies of all documents, including DepEd Advisories, authorization from the principal or school head, accomplishment reports, certificates, plaques, medals, and trophies. The results should also be signed by all the members of AC and certified by the school head or principal for approval of the final list of awardees.

DepEd Order 36 Full Memo Download

To access and download the complete PDF of DepEd Order No. 36, series of 2016, a direct link is available on this page. By clicking the download button below, you can easily obtain a copy of DepEd Order 36 in PDF format.

Full PDF DepEd 36 memo file:


 As discussed in the video, as of May 30, 2021, the department updated the guidelines of DepEd Order 36, which tackles the Awards and Recognition for the K to 12 Basic Education Program in line with the Learning Continuity Plan for School Year 2020-2021. The update clarifies the Recognition of Academic Excellence Awardee’s per DepEd Order 36, series 2016. Through this order, educational institutions should formally recognize students’ achievements and outstanding performance.

 The recognition should encourage learners to strive for excellence and be active in the school community. In addition, the policy demands fair and impartial treatment of learners who obtained similar awards. For instance, when giving academic excellence awards, schools should recognize each learner, not by the lowest to highest grades. Instead, schools should recognize learners in alphabetical order as a fair treatment.


With the DepEd Order 36, schools and teachers will have standard and systematized guidelines about granting Awards and Recognition for the K to 12 Basic Education Program. This policy provides detailed criteria for granting awards from the classroom, grade level, and special recognition. Aside from that, the policy encloses a general average, criteria for leadership, and specific awards per subject. But most of all, the policy contains the awards for qualified learners and the process of determining awardees. Therefore, the DepeEd Order 36 promotes a fair and unbiased acknowledgment of learners’ achievements and excellence.

error: Content is protected !!